Thread: Bottle cleaning

Bottle cleaning

I was wondering what everyone uses to clean and sanstize their bottles? Last night I scrubbed and cleaned with b-brite, rinsed and let them dry. Tonight I plan on using c-brite to sanitize the bottle and then bottle tomorrow night. Is there an easier way of doing things?

Also, any easy way to clean labels off of bottles?

I'm still a total newbie but as for the labels, that I have looked high n low for. I did 25 in two seperate sittings. I let them soak in hot hot water for a looong time, couple of hours atleast. But I replaced the water as needed to keep it hot. I threw some bleach in for good measure (not to sanitize of course). Then when I was ready to peel the labels I added more hot water and a lil soap. For the most part labels peeled right off, a lil scrub with a sponge and all the left over glue came off. Fastest and most efficent way I've peeled labels so far. But -not all labels should be treated equally! Sam adams peels off like a champion. Sierra Nevada peels of very pleasantly. Great lakes brewing will give you a head ache. I will, without a doubt, take that kind of thing into consideration before I save up bottles for my next batch. Also, I've tried this only once but I've gotten word from a more experiance Home brewer, isopropal alcohol works well. My buddy and I got the wipes, it was kind of a pain. But I would be willing to bet if you saod them in a light ration of Rubbing alcohol to hot water youd be peeling labels off like a warrior.
    Star san seems to be the main cleanser I've seen up and down these forums and others. I've used a few different ones, some iodine one which was a pain to measure and now Ive got some poweder by L.D Carlson company. Got it free with some purchase of ingredients, doesnt seem too bad for now.
    Graduate of Geology.
    Undergraduate of Brewing.

Primary: Oudu Bruin, German Alt
    condition:TartRaspberryAle, Saison, Hefeweizen
    on deck: Hmm..