Thread: When to toss equipment and replace?

When to toss equipment and replace?

I've been brewing for just over two years at a rate of about one batch every 1 1/2 - 2 months. Been doing partial mashes for last 10 batches or so. Anyway, I'm sure my last 3 batches were infected (gushers and awful off flavours) and I'm wondering if I just need to toss my equipment and buy new. I don't think the off flavours are from fermentation temps as I've been keeping pretty well within the range of whatever yeast I'm using. Everything that touches my beer is thoroughly soaked in starsan (not rinsed) and my set-up is pretty basic (plastic primary, glass carboy/secondary, auto-siphon, regular tubing, plastic bottling bucket w/spigot, plastic bottle filler). I use only glass bottles too, some of which have been in circulation since my very first brew day. I'm wondering how long some of you have been using the same equipment? ...or bottles? I've had "neck-rings" inside the bottles of a few batches, but can usually get them off with cleanser before reusing. Do plastic fermentors and tubing just need to be replaced every so often as a basic rule? I don't think my buckets are scratched up at all and I actually do by new tubing every 5 batches or so.

Thanks for any advice.

Welcome to the site.
    I've got 2 buckets I've used since 1993 and they've never caused an infection, even though they both have spigots that I didn't replace for almost 10 years. I think the idea of routinely discarding buckets is silly.
    Are all the bottles from each batch infected or just some of them? If it's not all of them I suspect the bottles. Otherwise the most likely culprits are the spigot, autosiphon and bottling wand since they all have places that are hard to physically clean.
    Bottles can be cleaned and re-used almost indefinitely unless you use a heat treatment for sanitizing.